County of BUNCOMBE



2017 GENERAL

Election Date: 11/07/2017

This is an official notice of an election to be conducted in **BUNCOMBE** County on **11/07/2017**. This notice contains a list of all of the ballot measures and federal, State, and local offices this county expects, as of this date, to be on the ballot on the date of the election. (See Attachment)

An Election Notice will be prepared not later than 100 days before a regularly scheduled election that permits absentee voting, and as soon as practicable in the case of an election or vacancy election not regularly scheduled. For a second primary, an Election Notice will be prepared, no later than the day following the date the appropriate board of elections orders that a second primary be held.

As soon as ballot styles are printed, this county board of elections will update this notice with the certified candidates for each office and ballot measures and referenda questions that will be on the ballot. For General Elections during even-numbered years, ballots will be printed **60 days** prior to the election. For statewide primaries and other elections (except municipal elections), ballots will be printed **50 days** prior to the election. Municipal ballots are available **30 days** prior to Election Day. **You must request an updated Election Notice.**

Transmitting a Federal Write-in Absentee Ballot:

This notice may be used in conjunction with the federal write-in absentee ballot (FWAB). Covered military & overseas voters seeking to vote by absentee ballot may use the FWAB to register to vote, request an absentee ballot, and vote an official military-overseas ballot. When using the FWAB to register to vote, and/or request an absentee ballot, please transmit your signed and completed FWAB no later than **5:00 p.m. on the day before Election Day**. If submitted later than this day and time, your absentee ballot will not be counted. Federal write-in absentee ballots are available at <u>www.NCSBE.gov</u>. You may also request a regular absentee ballot by using the federal postcard application (FPCA), available at <u>www.FVAP.gov</u> A regular ballot can be mailed, faxed or emailed to you. You may return the FWAB or a regular absentee ballot by mail, secure fax (1-919-715-0351) or email (<u>uocava.absentee@sboe.state.nc.us</u>).

Marking a Federal Write-in Absentee Ballot:

When marking a FWAB, for each office for which you wish to vote, write in either a candidate's name or political party designation. For ballot measures or referenda, write either "YES" (you are *for* the ballot measure or referendum) or "NO" (you are *against* the ballot measure or referendum). In a primary, if you are registered as Democrat, Republican or Libertarian, for partisan contests, you may only vote for the candidates of the party for which you are affiliated. You are also eligible to vote for non-partisan contests. If you are registered as unaffiliated ("independent"), in a primary, you may choose to vote for the partisan contests of one of the parties <u>or</u> you may choose to vote for non-partisan contests of one of the parties <u>or</u> you may choose to vote for non-partisan contests.

Please check the website for the NC State Board of Elections (<u>www.NCSBE.gov</u>) for additional information on militaryoverseas absentee voting.

Election Notice Of Contests and Referenda BUNCOMBE BOARD OF ELECTIONS (11/07/2017)

BUNCOMBE BOARD OF ELECTIONS (11/07/2017)

THOMAS WIDMER

GRACE NICHOLS

SARAH GASSAWAY

TOWN OF WEAVERVILLE MAYOR

PARTY **CANDIDATE NAME** NAME ON BALLOT **CITY OF ASHEVILLE MAYOR** CITY OF ASHEVILLE CITY COUNCIL TOWN OF BLACK MOUNTAIN MAYOR DONALD COLLINS Don Collins WESTON HALL Weston Hall CHARLES SOBOL C. Michael Sobol TOWN OF BLACK MOUNTAIN ALDERMAN JONATHAN BRADEN Jonathan Braden JEREMIE KONEGNI Jeremie Konegni ROBERT PAULY Bob Pauly JERRY ROBINSON Matt Robinson MATTHEW STONE Ryan Stone TOWN OF MONTREAT COMMISSIONER ALICE LENTZ Alice Boggs Lentz MARSHALL OTTO Kent Otto

Tom Widmer

Grace Nichols

ALLAN ROOT Al Root TOWN OF WEAVERVILLE TOWN COUNCIL WILLIAM JACKSON Doug Jackson DOROTHEA SHERRILL **Dottie Sherrill** EARL VALOIS Earl Valois THOMAS VEASEY Thomas P. Veasey II TOWN OF WOODFIN ALDERMAN JACKIE BRYSON Jackie W. Bryson DEBRA GIEZENTANNER Debra A Giezentanner

	DEBRA GIEZEN I ANNER	Debra A. Glezentanner
	DONALD HENSLEY	Don Hensley
WOODFIN SANITARY WATER AND SEWER DISTRICT TRUSTEE		
	DOUGLAS BALLENTINE	Ivo Ballentine
	DONALD HAYNES	Don Haynes

Don Haynes Sarah W. Gassaway